On this page 14 sections
- USA at a glance
- Why the USA is different
- Quick picks
- Step 1: Size your plan for the USA
- Step 2: Compare published prices
- Step 3: What “unlimited” means in the US
- Step 4: Check the rest of the fine print
- The seven providers
- Will your phone work?
- ESTA and EVUS fees from October 2026
- Our take
- Before you fly
- FAQ
- Sources and method
USA at a glance
Checked 4 November 2026- Cheapest plan listed
- $3.721 GB / 30 days, Yesim (Nomad: 3 GB / 30 days for $4)
- 7 days unlimited
- $19Nomad (Maya’s global plan: $19.99)
- 10 GB for 30 days
- $10.40Nomad (Ubigi: $14)
- Do this first
- Check which network a plan uses, and its coverage on your route
These USA plans are data-only, with no US phone number unless you add one (Saily sells one). Keep your home SIM on for SMS codes.
Why the USA is different
The three national networks are AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, and each has its own coverage footprint. In big cities the differences are small. On long drives, in national parks and in rural areas, the network behind your eSIM can decide whether you have a signal at all. Before you buy, check which network the plan uses, then look at that network’s coverage along your route. The FCC’s National Broadband Map shows mobile coverage reported by each provider.
The other difference is “unlimited”. Some providers publish a full-speed allowance, others a daily limit, and some don’t say. That matters most if you plan to stream, upload video or tether a laptop.
| Provider | Network(s) named | Where we read it |
|---|---|---|
| Airalo | T-Mobile, plus one other network | Airalo USA page |
| Nomad | Verizon / AT&T | Nomad USA page |
| Ubigi | T-Mobile (also Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands) | Ubigi 7-day unlimited plan page |
| Holafly | Not named | — |
| Saily | Not named | — |
| Yesim | Not named | — |
| Maya | Not named; says it connects to the strongest local network | — |
Official pages, checked 4 November 2026. Airalo’s page shows T-Mobile as the primary network and "+1 other".
Alaska and Hawaii
Ubigi says its USA plans cover Hawaii but not Alaska. The other pages we read didn’t say either way, so if you’re going to Alaska, confirm coverage with the provider before you buy.
Quick picks
A week or two, normal use
A 10 GB / 30-day fixed plan. Nomad lists it at $10.40 (on Verizon / AT&T), Ubigi at $14 (on T-Mobile) and Yesim at $16.80.
Heavy use or tethering
A week of unlimited data costs $19 from Nomad, $19.99 on Maya’s global plan, or $23 from Ubigi, which publishes its limit: 25 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps.
Two weeks to a month
Yesim lists unlimited data at $34.80 for 15 days and $54.00 for 30. Maya’s global plan is $27.99 for 14 days and $49.99 for 30. Nomad’s unlimited plans stop at 7 days.
A North America trip
Nomad sells a North America plan covering three destinations, and Airalo’s North America plan starts at $5.50. Check each plan’s country list before you buy.
Step 1: Size your plan for the USA
Navigation on long drives, ride-hailing and streaming in the car add up. As a rough guide, maps and messaging use hundreds of megabytes a day, while video and video calls can use several gigabytes. These are general estimates, not measurements.
A city break: maps, messages, ride-hailing
3–5 GB fixed plan
1–2 weeks or a road trip, with photos and social apps
10–20 GB fixed, or unlimited
Remote work, video calls, tethering a laptop
Unlimited, after checking its fair-use and hotspot rules
Step 2: Compare published prices
Unlimited plans by trip length
| Days | Airalo | Nomad | Holafly | Ubigi | Yesim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 days | $11.50 | $9 (lowest listed) | $11.90 | — | $10.44 |
| 5 days | $18.50 | $13 (lowest listed) | $20.50 | — | $17.40 |
| 7 days | $25.00 | $19 (lowest listed) | $27.50 | $23 | $24.36 |
| 10 days | $34.00 | — | $36.50 | — | $28.27 (lowest listed) |
| 15 days | $46.00 | — | $50.50 | $39 | $34.80 (lowest listed) |
| 30 days | $68.00 | — | $73.90 | $62 | $54.00 (lowest listed) |
Lowest listed price in the row — means no plan of that length was listed. Single days: Yesim $3.48, Holafly $3.90, Ubigi $8. Saily lists a 15-day unlimited plan for $45.99 (5 GB a day at full speed, then up to 1 Mbps). Maya sells one global unlimited plan at the same price for every country: $9.99 for 3 days, $19.99 for 7, $27.99 for 14 and $49.99 for 30 (see Maya). Official pages, checked 4 November 2026.
Fixed-data plans
| Data | Airalo | Nomad | Saily | Ubigi | Yesim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | $4.003 days | $47 days | $3.997 days | $47 days | $3.7230 days (lowest listed) |
| 3 GB | $9.007 days | $430 days (lowest listed) | $8.9930 days | $715 days | — |
| 5 GB | $13.5030 days | $7.2030 days (lowest listed) | $13.9930 days | — | $10.8030 days |
| 10 GB | $22.5030 days | $10.4030 days (lowest listed) | $22.9930 days | $1430 days | $16.8030 days |
| 20 GB | $36.5030 days | $16.8030 days, sale (lowest listed) | $36.9930 days | — | $25.2030 days |
| 50 GB | $42.0030 days | $2430 days, sale (lowest listed) | — | $4430 days | — |
Lowest listed price in the row Validity differs, so compare the small print as well as the price. Nomad’s 20 GB and 50 GB plans were on sale; regular prices are $38 and $60. Nomad also lists 75 GB for 180 days ($89) and 100 GB for 365 days ($120); Ubigi lists 25 GB for 30 days ($32) and 100 GB for 360 days ($99); Yesim lists 30 GB for $31.92. Official pages, checked 4 November 2026.
Step 3: What “unlimited” means in the US
| Provider | Published limit on unlimited data | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|
| Ubigi | 7-day plan: 25 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps | "Data sharing allowed" |
| Saily | 15-day plan: 5 GB a day at full speed, then up to 1 Mbps | Not checked |
| Holafly | No speed limit stated | 1 GB a day |
| Yesim | Speed "may be limited" under the operator’s fair-usage policy | Depends on operator |
| Maya | "No caps, no throttling" | Not checked |
| Airalo | Not stated on the USA page | Not stated |
| Nomad | Not stated on the USA page | Not stated |
Official pages, checked 4 November 2026. We read Ubigi’s terms for the 7-day plan only. We haven’t tested any of these limits.
Step 4: Check the rest of the fine print
- Activation windows. Nomad starts a plan automatically 60 days after purchase if you haven’t used it. Yesim gives 180 days on its USA plans, and so does Saily.
- Top-ups. Yesim says top-up is available on its USA plans.
- No US number. These plans are data-only. Saily sells an optional US number with call and text plans. Keep your home line on for bank and app SMS codes; your carrier’s roaming charges may apply.
The seven providers
Airalo
- USA from
- $4.001 GB / 3 days
- Unlimited
- $25.007 days; $68.00 for 30 days
- Wider plans
- North America from $5.50
What stands out
A wide range of sizes (1 GB to 50 GB, in 3- to 30-day versions) and unlimited plans from 3 to 30 days. Its page names T-Mobile as the primary network, plus one other.
What to watch
Its fixed plans are among the more expensive here at 5 to 20 GB, and the USA page doesn’t state a fair-use limit for unlimited plans.
Nomad
- USA from
- $43 GB / 30 days
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $10.40lowest listed
- Unlimited
- $197 days; $9 for 3
What stands out
The lowest listed price for every fixed size from 3 GB to 50 GB, and for 3 to 7 days of unlimited data. It names Verizon and AT&T, and sells a North America plan and long 180- and 365-day plans.
What to watch
Unlimited plans stop at 7 days. The 20 GB and 50 GB prices were sale prices. Plans start automatically 60 days after purchase, and the USA page doesn’t state a fair-use limit.
Holafly
- USA from
- $3.901 day unlimited
- Unlimited
- $27.507 days; $73.90 for 30 days
- Backup
- "Always On": 1 GB a month
What stands out
The simplest choice: pick the number of days and get unlimited data. Every eSIM includes "Always On" backup data, and Holafly says refund requests can be made up to 6 months after purchase.
What to watch
The highest price here for 7 or 30 days of unlimited data. Hotspot sharing is capped at 1 GB a day, and the USA page doesn’t name its network.
Saily
- USA from
- $3.991 GB / 7 days
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $22.99
- Unlimited
- $45.9915 days; 5 GB a day full speed
What stands out
The only provider here that sells a US phone number alongside data, useful if you need to receive calls or texts from US businesses. Its 15-day unlimited plan publishes a clear daily limit.
What to watch
Its fixed plans are among the most expensive at 5 GB and up, and the USA page doesn’t name its network.
Ubigi
- USA from
- $41 GB / 7 days
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $14
- Unlimited
- $237 days; $39 for 15; $62 for 30
What stands out
Clear terms: its 7-day unlimited plan gives 25 GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps, and data sharing is allowed. It names T-Mobile, including Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands, and sells 100 GB and 200 GB plans valid for 360 days.
What to watch
Ubigi says its USA plans don’t cover Alaska. We only read the fair-use terms for the 7-day plan.
Yesim
- USA from
- $3.721 GB / 30 days
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $16.80
- Unlimited
- $34.8015 days; $54.00 for 30
What stands out
The lowest listed price for 10, 15 and 30 days of unlimited data among the country plans, priced by the day ($3.48 for one). Fixed plans all last 30 days, with 180 days to activate and top-ups available.
What to watch
Speeds may be limited under the operator’s fair-usage policy, hotspot depends on the operator, and the USA page doesn’t name its network.
Maya
- 3 days
- $9.99unlimited data
- 7 days
- $19.99unlimited data
- 30 days
- $49.99unlimited data
What stands out
Within $1 of Nomad for 3 or 7 days of unlimited data, and the lowest 30-day unlimited price we found ($49.99). It’s one global plan, so the same eSIM keeps working if the US is one stop of several. Maya’s page says "No caps, no throttling."
What to watch
It renews automatically while Travel Mode is on, so turn it off when you get home. The page we read doesn’t name the local networks or spell out a fair-use policy, and we haven’t tested the no-throttling claim.
Will your phone work?
- eSIM-capable and unlocked. Apple lists iPhone XS, XS Max, XR or later. Settings → General → About should say "No SIM restrictions" next to Carrier Lock (full checklist).
- Bought in mainland China? Apple says that in China mainland only the iPhone 18 Pro, 18 Pro Max, iPhone Duo, iPhone 17e and iPhone Air support eSIM. Many older mainland models use two physical SIM cards instead, so check for Add eSIM in your settings before you buy a plan.
- Bought in Hong Kong or Macau? Apple notes that certain iPhone models sold there have two nano-SIM slots. Check for Add eSIM in your settings first.
- Install before you fly. Install the eSIM at home on Wi-Fi and leave the line switched off until you land (install guide).
ESTA and EVUS fees from October 2026
Visitors using the Visa Waiver Program need an approved ESTA before they travel, applied for on the official CBP ESTA website. A Federal Register notice published on 1 October 2026 set the fee at $40.62 per travel authorization from 16 October 2026, or $10.62 if the application is denied.
Chinese travellers with a 10-year B1, B2 or B1/B2 visa must enroll in EVUS (the Electronic Visa Update System) before travel, according to CBP. The same Federal Register notice sets an HR-1 EVUS fee of $31.75 from 16 October 2026, which it says is charged in addition to any other fee applicable by law. Check the total on the official EVUS site before you pay.
Use the official sites
Unofficial websites offer to file ESTA and EVUS applications for an extra fee. The official CBP sites are linked above and in the sources.
Our take
For most visitors, Nomad’s fixed plans were the lowest we found ($10.40 for 10 GB over 30 days, on Verizon / AT&T), and Ubigi ($14, on T-Mobile) is the alternative if you prefer that network. For unlimited data, Nomad ($19) or Maya ($19.99) cover a week; for two weeks or more, Yesim and Maya were lowest. Whatever you choose, check the network’s coverage on your route, and don’t pick Ubigi for Alaska.
Affiliate links. Prices are set by the provider and confirmed at checkout.
Before you fly
Check your phone
Make sure it’s unlocked and eSIM-capable (how to check).
Check the network for your route
Find out which network the plan uses and check its coverage where you’re going, especially for road trips and national parks.
Buy and install at home
Install on Wi-Fi before departure and keep the line off until you land. With Nomad, don’t buy more than 60 days ahead.
Switch on when you land
Turn on the travel line, enable data roaming for that line, and set it as your mobile-data line.
Check entry rules
Apply for ESTA or EVUS on the official CBP websites. Visa services such as iVisa exist, but the official government site is always the authority.
Frequently asked questions
What’s the cheapest USA eSIM?
On the official pages we checked (4 November 2026), Yesim listed 1 GB for $3.72 and Nomad listed 3 GB for 30 days at $4. For 10 GB over 30 days, Nomad listed $10.40. A week of unlimited data was $19 from Nomad.
Which US network do travel eSIMs use?
Nomad names Verizon and AT&T. Ubigi names T-Mobile, and Airalo names T-Mobile as its primary network plus one other. Holafly, Saily, Yesim and Maya didn’t name a US network on the pages we read.
Is unlimited data really unlimited in the USA?
Not always. Ubigi’s 7-day plan slows to 2 Mbps after 25 GB, and Saily’s 15-day plan slows to up to 1 Mbps after 5 GB a day. Holafly caps hotspot sharing at 1 GB a day, and Yesim says operator fair-usage rules may apply. Maya says it has no caps or throttling. Airalo and Nomad didn’t state a limit on their USA pages.
Do USA eSIMs work in Alaska and Hawaii?
Ubigi says its USA plans cover Hawaii but not Alaska. The other providers’ pages we read didn’t say, so check with the provider before you buy if you’re going to either state.
Can I get a US phone number with a travel eSIM?
Saily sells an optional US number with call and text plans. The other plans compared here are data-only.
Is there an eSIM that covers the US, Canada and Mexico?
Yes. Nomad sells a North America plan covering three destinations, and Airalo’s North America plan starts at $5.50. Maya’s global plan also covers multiple countries. Check each plan’s country list.
How much does ESTA cost in 2026?
A Federal Register notice set the ESTA fee at $40.62 from 16 October 2026, or $10.62 if the application is denied. Apply only on the official CBP ESTA website.
Do Chinese visitors need EVUS?
Yes, if they hold a 10-year B1, B2 or B1/B2 visa, according to CBP. From 16 October 2026 the HR-1 EVUS fee is $31.75, charged in addition to any other fee applicable by law.
Sources and method
Last checked 4 November 2026
All prices and plan facts on this page were read from these official pages on 4 November 2026. We have not purchased or tested these plans ourselves; we summarize what the providers publish, in our own words. Read our method.
- Airalo — United States eSIMsChecked 4 November 2026
- Nomad — USA eSIMChecked 4 November 2026
- Holafly — eSIM for the USAChecked 4 November 2026
- Saily — eSIM for the USAChecked 4 November 2026
- Ubigi — USA data plansChecked 4 November 2026
- Ubigi — USA Unlimited, 7 days (fair-use terms, networks, coverage)Checked 4 November 2026
- Yesim — eSIM for the United StatesChecked 4 November 2026
- Maya — USA eSIMChecked 4 November 2026
- Apple Support — Use eSIM while traveling internationally with your iPhoneChecked 4 November 2026
- Federal Communications Commission — National Broadband MapChecked 4 November 2026
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection — Official ESTA application websiteChecked 4 November 2026
- Federal Register — Certain DHS immigration-related fees required by HR-1, FY 2027 inflation adjustments (1 Oct 2026)Checked 4 November 2026
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection — CBP now requires EVUS enrollments for Chinese national 10-year visa holdersChecked 4 November 2026
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection — EVUS frequently asked questionsChecked 4 November 2026
- SafetyWing: Nomad InsuranceChecked 4 November 2026